Council of Affiliated Deans

The Council of Affiliated Deans (COAD) was established by the Dean as a link to our affiliated institutions. With the advice and consent of the Dean, each affiliate chooses one representative to serve as an Affiliate Dean. COAD meets quarterly and has the responsibility of keeping the members apprised of current Medical College education, research and faculty policies.

Council Members

  • Joseph Abularrage, M.D.
    Chair, Department of Pediatrics
    NewYork-Presbyterian Queens
    56-45 Main Street
    Flushing, NY 11355
    Tel: 718-670-1033
    Fax: 718-460-0161
  • Timothy Boone, MD
    Chair, Department of Urology
    Co-Director of the Institute for Academic Medicine
  • Michael Berlin, MD
    Assistant Vice President
    Strategic Planning and Business Development
    Cayuga Medical Center of Ithaca
    101 Dates Drive
    Ithaca, NY 14850
    Tel: 607-274-4546
  • S. Balavenkatesh Kanna, M.D., M.P.H.
    Associate GME Director, Department of Medicine
    Lincoln Medical and Mental Health Center 
    234 East 149th Street, 2nd Floor Rm 203
    Bronx, NY 10451
    Tel: 718-579-4842 
    Fax: 718-579-4836
  • Joseph Lane, M.D.
    Director, Clinical Research
    Hospital for Special Surgery
    525 E. 70th Street
    New York, NY 10021
    Tel: 212-606-1255, 1172
    Fax: 212-772-1061
  • Stephen Peterson, MD
    Chair, Department of Medicine
    NewYork-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital
  • Rajiv R. Ratan, M.D., Ph.D.
    Executive Director
    Burke Medical Research Institute
    785 Mamaroneck Avenue
    White Plains, NY 10605
  • Vivian Strong, MD
    Vice Chair, Department of Surgery
    Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center